Kavaler Award

The ICIS Kavaler Award

The ICIS Kavaler Award, sponsored by The Chemists’ Club in partnership with ICIS Publishing, is awarded each year to an executive who is recognized for outstanding achievement, as voted on by his peers.

History of the Award

The award is a revival of the Kavaler Award which was presented by Chemical Market Reporter to leading chemical CEOs from 1990 to 1999, including Jon Huntsman Sr. (founder, Chairman and CEO of Huntsman), Frank Popoff (Chairman and CEO of Dow Chemical), and Robert Kennedy (Chairman of Union Carbide). The award is named in honor of Arthur Kavaler, who served for 46 years as reporter, editor and eventually publisher and editor-in-chief of Chemical Market Reporter – one of the three publications incorporated into ICIS Chemical Business – who passed away at the age of 91 on January 18, 2012. Kavaler, a probing reporter and editor with unwavering conviction, had a major impact on chemical industry journalism.

Selection Process

In the award selection process, ICIS and The Chemists’ Club invite each of the ICIS Top 40 Power Players to vote for three individuals in that group based on newsworthy achievement in one or more of the following categories:

  • Profitability/shareholder value
  • Mergers and acquisitions 
  • Projects/capital investment
  • Innovation – technology, product, business process with an impact on industry and society

Recent Awardees

2019 - Bob Patel, LYONDELLBASELL
2018 - Bob Patel, LYONDELLBASELL
2017 – Kurt Bock, BASF
2016 – Jim Radcliffe, INEOS
2015 – Andrew Liveris, DOW CHEMICAL
2014 – Jim Gallogly, LYONDELLBASELL
2013 – Charles Bunch, PPG