Egg Nog Gala


This traditional festivity, believed to be the longest such continuing event, attracts guests from across the chemical based industries as well as others who have an interest in the industry, such as financial analysts and consultants.

Corporate sponsors enable the Club to invite college students, both graduate and undergraduate, free of charge. The informal networking gives the students an invaluable opportunity to learn about the industry, and some recruiting has been known to occur.

Winthrop-Sears Medal

The Winthrop-Sears Medal is presented each year at dinner which is held in December at the New York Academy of Sciences. The award was established by The Chemists’ Club in 1970 to recognize individuals who, by their entrepreneurial achievement, have contributed to the vitality of the chemical industry and to the betterment of humanity. The medal is named in honor of two of America’s earliest chemical entrepreneurs, John Winthrop, Jr., considered the first chemist in America, and John Sears, creator of the Massachusetts salt industry.

Past medal winners include:

Mario Nappa
Scott Power
Joel Marcus
Peter McCausland
Phillip Sharp
Herbert Boyer
Sol Barer 
Harold Sorgenti
Leonard Pool
Gordon Cain
Robert Gore
Jon Huntsman